Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home LEOKA 2017 Resource Pages Methodology: Federal Officers Killed and Assaulted

Methodology: Federal Officers Killed and Assaulted

Download Printable Document

Data published by the FBI concerning federal officers who were killed or assaulted in the line of duty are provided by the following seven federal departments:

  • U.S. Capitol Police
  • U.S. Department of Defense
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • U.S. Department of the Interior
  • U.S. Department of Justice
  • U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • U.S. Postal Inspection Service

Within these departments are the agencies, bureaus, and services that employ most of the personnel who are responsible for protecting government officials and enforcing and investigating violations of federal law. Every year, the FBI contacts these agencies and requests information about the officers who were killed or assaulted in the line of duty.

The information concerning federal officers differs slightly from the data regarding assaults on city, college and university, county, state, and tribal (non-federal) law enforcement officers. First, the data regarding federal officers include all reports of assaults regardless of the extent (or the absence) of personal injury. Second, the circumstance categories are tailored to represent the unique duties of federal law enforcement personnel.